Power Maxed Racing

2109 British Touring Car Championship

5 Star Group is pleased to announce its partnership with Power Maxed Racing for the 2019 season of British Touring Car Championship (BTCC).  The Staffordshire-based motorsport team are no strangers to the BTCC, with many podium finishes and wins.


Starting as title sponsor of the single car team of Chris Stockton’s TEAM BTC Chevrolet in 2014, in 2015 the decision was made to form Power Maxed Racing, in order to focus on promoting the range of vehicle care products produced by Automotive Brands, under the Power Maxed banner. That year saw two Chevrolet Cruze saloons join the BTCC fray, ably piloted by Dave Newsham & rookie Josh Cook. With a podium finish at Rockingham, and consistent top 10 finishes, it was clear from the off that they were a team to be reckoned with. That was confirmed at the last round at Brands Hatch, when Josh took the win in the prestigious Jack Sears Trophy.

2016 saw the two Chevrolets re-emerge in the hands of former Lamborghini GT driver Hunter Abbott & Emmerdale star Kelvin Fletcher. The pairing brought the team huge publicity, and finished with several top 10 finishes.

Towards the end of 2016, Team Principal Adam Weaver & Race Director Martin Broadhurst succeeded where many had failed, and brought Vauxhall back into the BTCC. With factory support, the team set to work building two brand new Astra K shells, and succeeded in having them in full livery ready for Media Day. BTCC Superstar Tom Chilton and rookie Senna Proctor were set to pilot the cars for the 2017 season, and did so with aplomb.  Chilton achieved a podium on his car’s very first competitive outing at Brands Hatch, and the success didn’t stop there, with a large number of top 10 finished throughout the year. This was topped by a second-place finish at Silverstone, by guest driver, WTCC Champion Rob Huff, who narrowly lost out to multiple champion Matt Neal due to a number of safety car laps, and running on the Option tyre.

The season highlight was Senna Proctor securing his victory in the Jack Sears Trophy, awarded to best rookie in their first year, with 5 rounds to go, guaranteeing his place in the BTCC Hall of Fame.

2018 saw 2015 Jack Sears Champion Josh Cook take to the wheel of the PMR built Astra, alongside 2017 Jack Sears Champion staying with the team for his second year, in the series’ 60th Anniversary year.

Series veterans Jason Plato and Rob Collard will be in the Vauxhall Astra's driving seats for the 2019 season.  Further details to follow shortly.